We’re Baa-aack! – The New Trenches

I wasn’t going to saddle myself with another blog this time around, but then I began to run into so many news stories that weren’t being covered (the Samoa story, for example) that after much moaning and groaning and telling myself “You don’t have the TIME!” I went right ahead and did it anyway.

WordPress allows you to import blogposts from Blogger, so everything from the old, old Trenches is now in the new Archives. The posts from The Revolution are gone forever, unfortunately, but if you’re interested in history or still-relevant discussions about labor and politics, some of this is worth looking back on (the exchange with Mr Mulvey, for instance [his comment here, my response here] or the piece on modern slavery).

The focus, of course, remains the same: workers and what they’re up against. We’ll have union news, political news that’s relevant to workers, philosophical discussions, and, as always, the occasional (?) rant. I hope you’ll add us to your blogroll again and come back often to see what’s new. With the demise of Labor Blog, there aren’t that many of us left who cover what’s happening to ordinary people.

(BTW, if you add Trenches to your blogroll, I’d add your site to mine, tit-for-tat. Just drop me an email and let me know.)

Expect a real post (as opposed to this intro) today or tomorrow – I spent so much time setting this up that I don’t have time to write it now – about the attempt by airport screeners to unionize.

Finally, a short and unsolicited word about WordPress: I’ve been very impressed with the speed, flexibility, reliability, and long list of features they offer – I’d have to pay to get all this anywhere else – and while it doesn’t compare with Squarespace, it’s FREE and I wouldn’t expect it to. Hence both blogs are now on WP. I recommend it highly for anyone looking to get off Blogger. It’s the best free bloghost out there, and believe me, I’ve used them all.

6 Responses

  1. Good to see you back!

    I’ll be reading you.

    Cheers.

  2. I’ll update your permalink after work tonight…good to see you s(b)logging again. 🙂

  3. Thanks to both of you. It’s good to be back and nice to know I haven’t been entirely forgotten, which is what I expected.

    I hope you’ll add Witness to your blogrolls as well.

  4. Woo hoo!!! Made my day. Welcome back to blogtopia. It sucked without you.

    (I got that from Hallmark.)

  5. paaction is me. I work for PA Action. I stand by my blogtopia sucking comments.

Leave a Reply

